





DIALOGUE

Mitigation Instruments for Achieving India's Climate and Development Goals

15 October 2019 | 0930 – 1300 hrs Tamarind Hall, India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road, New Delhi

(Entry from gate number 1 on Lodhi Road)

Agenda

0930 – 1000	Registration & tea		
1000 – 1010	Welcome and opening remarks Dr Arunabha Ghosh, Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW)		
1010 – 1025	Presentation Findings from the white paper on mitigation instruments for India Dr Vaibhav Chaturvedi, CEEW		
1025 – 1130	Panel discussion Mitigation instruments in context of the Indian economy Dr Ajay Mathur, The Energy Resources Institute (TERI) Dr Britt Groosman, Environmental Defense Fund (EDF) Mr Chinmaya Kumar Acharya, Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation (SSEF) Dr Jai Asundi, Center for Study of Science, Technology and Policy (CSTEP) Dr Purnamita Dasgupta, Institute of Economic Growth (IEG) Moderator Dr Arunabha Ghosh, CEEW		
1130 – 1145	Tea		
1145 – 1250	Panel discussion Industrial perspective on adopting the right mix of mitigation instruments Ms Aparajita Agarwal, Tata Steel Mr Hitesh Kataria, Mahindra & Mahindra Dr Kirit Parikh, Integrated Research and Action for Development (IRADe) Ms Seema Arora, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) Moderator Dr Vaibhav Chaturvedi, CEEW		
1250 – 1300	Vote of thanks Dr Arunabha Ghosh, CEEW		
1300 onwards	Lunch		







Background Note

Dedicated policies and instruments are critical for shaping our development trajectory and moving towards a resource-efficient and low-carbon future. Countries across the globe have adopted different mitigation instruments for aligning the development pathway with a low carbon pathway. India too has been focussing on mitigation through various policies and instruments guided by its development challenges and national priorities. In the future too, India is likely to use multiple options, such as a carbon tax, carbon markets, or a hybrid of carbon markets and taxes, trading of energy efficiency and renewable energy certificates, and other sectoral policy instruments working in tandem with each other, to move towards a low carbon society.

The Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW) and the Environmental Defense Fund (EDF), with support from the Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation (SSEF), constituted a high-level Working Group on Mitigation Instruments, comprising of senior experts from policy research think tanks, industries and academic sector. During the course of discussion, members of the Working Group chose four specific issues relevant to the debate for India- (i) Emission Trading Scheme (ETS), (ii) Carbon Tax, (iii) Article 6 of the Paris Agreement, and (iv) Company level initiatives for emission mitigation. The working group discussed the way forward to develop a narrative that is informed, balanced and addresses mitigation as well as development priorities simultaneously. The dialogue aims to inform the stakeholders about the deliberations in this working group. A white paper on the WGMI deliberation would be released at the dialogue.

This discussion intends to offer a platform for experts and policymakers from across sectors to start a dialogue in India, to inform the choice of an appropriate suite of mitigation instruments through a structured and transparent process. It is imperative that Indian stakeholders engage in the dialogue, to best align the country's national priorities and sustainable development objectives with the long-term goals of deep decarbonisation.

An initiative supported by







WGMI Members				
S. No.	Name	Designation	Organisation	
1	Dr Ajay Mathur	Director General	TERI	
2	Mr Anirban Ghosh	Chief Sustainability Officer	Mahindra & Mahindra	
3	Dr Arunabha Ghosh	Chief Executive Officer	CEEW	
4	Mr Chanakya Chaudhury	Vice President, Corporate Services	Tata Steel	
5	Dr Jai Asundi	Research Coordinator	CSTEP	
6	Dr Kirit Parikh	Chairman	IRADe	
7	Mr Krishan Dhawan	Former Chief Executive Officer	SSEF	
8	Prof Purnamita Dasgupta	Chair in Environmental Economics and Head, Environmental and Resource Economics Unit	IEG	
9	Mr Richie Ahuja	Regional Director, Asia	EDF	
10	Ms Seema Arora	Deputy Director general	CII- ITC	
11	Dr Vaibhav Chaturvedi	Research Fellow	CEEW	