Council on Energy, Environment and Water Integrated | International | Independent

Dr Arunabha Ghosh Elected Vice-Chair of the UN Committee for Development Policy

Dr Arunabha Ghosh (CEO, CEEW) was recently elected as the Vice-Chair of the UN Committee for Development Policy. He was first appointed to the committee by the UN Secretary-General in 2018 and nominated again in 2022 for a second term till December 2024.

The Committee for Development Policy (CDP) is a subsidiary advisory body of the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). The members are nominated in their personal capacity by the Secretary-General and are appointed by ECOSOC for a period of three years. The membership reflects a wide range of development experience and geographical and gender balance. The Committee advises the ECOSOC on emerging economic, social and environmental issues relevant to the design and implementation of the United Nations Sustainable Development Agenda, and to strengthening international development co-operation.

Arunabha advises governments, industry, civil society, and international organisations around the world. He currently serves on the Government of India’s G20 Finance Track Advisory Group and advises the Sherpa Track for India’s G20 Presidency in 2022-23. In 2022, the UN Secretary-General appointed him to the High-level Expert Group on the Credibility and Accountability of Net-Zero Announcements by Non-State Actors. Arunabha is also a member of the Global Commission on the Economics of Water. In 2020, the Government of India appointed him Co-Chair of the energy, environment and climate change track for India’s Science, Technology and Innovation Policy (STIP2020). He was also appointed the Co-Chair of the T20 Task Force on climate and energy for Indonesia’s G20 Presidency in 2022.