Council on Energy, Environment and Water Integrated | International | Independent
Report Launch
Access to Clean Cooking Energy and Electricity: Survey of States 2018

21 Nov 2018   |   0930 – 1400

Organised by CEEW and Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation (SSEF)

About the Event

At the ACCESS report launch, we discussed how access to energy in India has changed over the last three years and highlighted the bottlenecks that people face in accessing cleaner forms of energy today. We launched our flagship study 'Access to Clean Cooking Energy and Electricity: Survey of States (ACCESS) 2018' with results from the second phase of the ACCESS Survey. ACCESS is India’s largest multi-dimensional energy access survey, covering more than 50 districts, 750 villages, 9000 households across six of the most energy-deprived states – Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal. In total, over 2.5 million data points have been collected.

The first phase of ACCESS was conducted in 2015. Our findings at that time drove the need to look beyond connections for enabling access to modern forms of energy. In 2018, we revisited the households to understand the changes in their energy access situation over the last three years and to study the impact of government policies during this period. The analysis from the collected data provides a multi-dimensional longitudinal view on energy access in India.

ACCESS provides a first-of-its-kind multi-dimensional evaluation of the state of energy access in India and highlights multiple nuances associated with electricity access and cooking energy access such as the duration of supply, quality, reliability, affordability, availability, health and safety, and even legal status of the connection.

For Event Queries

Riddhima Sethi

Communications Associate


Key Speakers

  • Abhishek Jain

    Senior Programme Lead, CEEW

  • Keshav Kumar Bhardwaj

    Chief Engineer, Banda Zone, Dakshinanchal Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd (DVVNL)

  • Amit Kumar

    Assistant Electrical Engineer (Maintenance), Bankipur, South Bihar Power Distribution Company Ltd (SBPDCL)

  • Puneet Dutt

    Head – Projects, Indian Society of Healthcare Professionals (ISHP)

  • Rahul Kumar Jat

    Indane Gramin Vitrak, Kachrod, Sehore, Madhya Pradesh

  • Sasmita Patnaik

    Programme Lead

  • Ashutosh Jindal

    Joint Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas (MoPNG), Government of India

  • Subodh Kumar

    Executive Director, Alternate Energy & Sustainable Development, Indian Oil Corporation Ltd (IOCL)

  • Manjula Menon

    Principal Scientist, M S Swaminathan Research Foundation (MSSRF)

  • A K Verma*

    Joint Secretary, Ministry of Power (MoP), Government of India

  • A K Vohra

    Former Managing Director, Jaipur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd (JVVNL)

  • Vikas Chandra Agarwal

    Director – Distribution, Uttar Pradesh Electricity Regulatory Commission (UPERC)

  • Shantanu Dixit

    Group Coordinator, Prayas (Energy Group)