Council on Energy, Environment and Water Integrated | International | Independent
How can India make climate information people-centric?

30 Aug 2022   |   1000 – 1500 IST

The National Dialogue ‘How can India make climate information people-centric?’ hosted by the Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW) and the India Meteorological Department (IMD) aims to address the urgent need for a people-centric and comprehensive Multi-Hazard Early Warning System (MHEWS) at the national and sub-national levels to increase the resilience of India’s most vulnerable communities to extreme hydro-met disasters.

The Dialogue will bring together key stakeholders, including central agencies like the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) and IMD, state agencies like the State Disaster Management Authorities, meteorological agencies, etc., to improve impact-based forecasting and end-to-end information dissemination, and to encourage accurate and timely warnings to vulnerable communities. The Dialogue further aims to discuss the gaps around the availability, accessibility and effectivity of EWS/MHEWS that need to be addressed to enhance community and organisational resilience and the best practices to climate-proof lives, livelihoods, infrastructure and economies.

For Event Queries

Riddhima Sethi

Communications Specialist

[email protected]

In Pictures

Powered by flickr embed.

Key Speakers


    Dr M. Ravichandran


    Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES)


    Kamal Kishore

    Member Secretary

    National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA)


    Bahar Dutt

    Environment Journalist


    Amit Prothi

    Director General

    Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI)


    Krishna S. Vatsa


    National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA)


    Harsh Gupta

    IAS, Project Director

    NCRMP (National Cyclone Risk Mitigation Project), NDMA


    Dr Aakash Shrivastava

    Additional Director and Head

    Centre for Environmental and Occupational Health, Climate Change and Health, National Centre for Disease Control (NCDC)


    Dr Madhavan Nair Rajeevan

    Former Secretary

    Ministry of Earth Sciences


    Pradeep Jena

    IAS, Development Commissioner-cum- Additional Chief Secretary and Managing Director

    Odisha State Disaster Management Authority (OSDMA), Government of Odisha


    Supriya Sahu

    IAS, Additional Chief Secretary

    Department of Environment, Climate Change & Forests, Government of Tamil Nadu


    Dr Uday Kant Mishra

    Vice Chairman

    Bihar State Disaster Management Authority (BSDMA), Government of Bihar


    Prof Janki Andharia

    Dean of the School of Disaster Studies

    Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS), Mumbai


    Stefania Benaglia

    EU-Asia, Public Diplomacy expert,

    Center for European Policy Studies (CEPS)


    Valerie Risk

    Vice President

    Everbridge (International)


    Arunabha Ghosh


    Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW)


    Dr Vaibhav Chaturvedi




    Shreya Wadhawan

    Research Analyst