Council on Energy, Environment and Water Integrated | International | Independent

Arunabha Ghosh appointed as member of the Environmental Pollution (Prevention and Control) Authority

Arunabha Ghosh, CEO, CEEW, was recently appointed as member of the reconstituted Environmental Pollution (Prevention and Control) Authority (EPCA). The 20-member Authority formed by the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC) is tasked with taking various measures to tackle environmental pollution in the National Capital Region (NCR). Some of the other members of the Authority include Ajay Mathur, Director-General, The Energy Research Institute (TERI); Navroz K. Dubash, Senior Fellow, Centre for Policy Research; Vishnu Mathur, Director-General, Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers; Arvind Kumar, Former Professor of Surgery, AIIMS; and Krishna Dhawan, Chief Executive Officer, Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation.

The appointment comes as an opportunity to contribute towards a more sustainable environment in Delhi NCR. The EPCA was formed in 1998 under order of the Supreme Court to protect and improve the quality of environment in the NCR. The Authority will meet on a weekly basis during the high pollution winter season.

This year, Arunabha Ghosh was also appointed as one of the 24 members of the UN Committee for Development Policy.