Council on Energy, Environment and Water Integrated | International | Independent

Dr Arunabha Ghosh Appointed to the Global Commission on the Economics of Water

We are delighted to announce that Dr Arunabha Ghosh has been appointed to the Global Commission on the Economics of Water launched at the World Economic Forum Annual Meeting in Davos on May 25, 2022. The Global Commission aims to present the evidence and the pathways for changes in policy, business approaches and global collaboration to support climate and water justice, sustainability, and food-energy-water security.

Dr Ghosh is amongst 17 experts, community leaders and practitioners from a broad range of science, policy and front-line practice expertise from all regions of the globe, to be appointed by the Global Commission. It will be co-chaired by Professor Mariana Mazzucato, University College London; Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Director-General, World Trade Organisation (WTO); Professor Johan Rockström, Potsdam Institute; and Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Senior Minister of Singapore.

The independent Global Commission is convened by the Government of the Netherlands and facilitated by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The Commission follows the Stern Review on the economics of climate change and the Dasgupta Review on the economics of biodiversity. It will fundamentally reassess the ways of managing water and its intrinsic role in addressing climate change and other global challenges.

Dr Ghosh has worked in the capacity of an advisor for various governments, industries, civil society and international organisations around the world. He currently serves on Government of India’s G20 Finance Track Advisory Group for India’s G20 Presidency in 2023. Most recently, the UN Secretary-General appointed him to the High-level Expert Group on the Credibility and Accountability of Net-Zero Announcements by Non-State Actors. In 2018, the UN Secretary-General nominated him to the UN Committee for Development Policy, re-nominating him this year for a second term until December 2024. In 2020, the Government of India appointed him Co-Chair of the energy, environment and climate change track for India’s Science, Technology and Innovation Policy (STIP2020). In 2021, he was appointed as Co-Chair of the T20 Task Force on climate and energy for Indonesia’s G20 2022 Presidency.